Derek Gores
Unknown – Derek Gore

Derek Gores
Uknown – Derek Gore

great dane - Michel Keck
Great Dane _ michel Keck

west highland terrier - Michel Keck
West Highland Terrier – Michel Keck

Two artists that I have reviewed due to their incredible skill in using collage are Michel Keck and Derek Gores. I chose these two artists as I find their work distinctly different to each other, but both artists are particularly appealing to me.

Keck uses a technique in her work called “giclee”, a method in which an inkjet printer is used to print her artwork on canvas. Keck’s work can be quite complex, filling the entire canvas with collage material, such as Balancing Act or When Angels Hit the Snooze Button. The latter artwork I found to be clever, being that it is Eve in front of the apple tree, however wittily named as to not give away much. Her series on dogs are truly incredible. In this she uses collage pieces with unusual prints or block colour, rather than words. I find this entire series inspirational.

Similarly, Derek Gore uses collage extensively to create a story using labels, digital material and magazines on canvas. He uses material of a particular colour to create depth in his imagery, and words that compliment his subject. For example, in his picture of a boy he uses words such as “happy”, “inspire” and “play”. In his work which of a basketball player, assumed to be Magic Johnson, Gore uses photographs of Magic as part of his collage. In my personal opinion, his work can be described using one word… “phenomenal”.

About happyhodgie

You can take the girl out of the Territory, but not the Territory out of the girl. I have relocated to South Oz but my heart is in the Northern Territory. My great passion is photography, particularly nature shots and architecture. I am constantly building my portfolio which includes images from my travel in South Oz and around the world.

Leave a comment